help please
just ran i spyware check with outpost 3.0 and got the false positive sgrunt that was talked about in a earlier topic but i got "WinAntiVirus 2006free" and under it said " Rouge Anti-spyware Products(aggressive advertising) and 2 reg entries HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREClassesComponent Categories{56FFCC30-D398-11D0-B2AE-00A0C908FA49}/409 and HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREClassesComponent Categories{56FFCC30-D398-11D0-B2AE-00A0C908FA49} and in the key all it said was 409 and "OfficeAntiVirus"
is this stuff safe too remove??another false positive??????
Please some help here?
thanks
see Anti-spyware: false positive (http://outpostfirewall.com/forum/showthread.php?t=17277) in the general plugins forum.
Please review the Outpost 3.0 - What to expect: Anti-Spyware FAQ (http://www.outpostfirewall.com/forum/showthread.php?t=15061#spy-faq) for details on reporting false positives.
It seems the mere existance of a key rather than the actual contents or context is checked sometimes. I have several false positives based on the installer used instead of the program installed. [Reading the keys clearly points to a known program and install/uninstalls adds and removes the detection :rolleyes: ]
It is remotely possible a search for the "implemented categories" for the CLSID failed. Giving Agnitum the benefit of a doubt, the search was made and the ID was unknown to them? Flagging the implementer would be a more proper approach. It would probably be a bad idea to "fix" this since I believe that would disable attachment scans.
One thing to be aware of that a false positive on one system is not necessarily a false positive on another.
thanks
#If you have any other info about this subject , Please add it free.# |
Posted in xn--oq0a.com | edit